Weddings in CITYNAME STATENAME
Marriage License Laws
Marriage License Laws  Home  Marriage License Laws  Local Wedding Services  Marriage License Laws  Wedding Store  Marriage License Laws  Advertise  Marriage License Laws  Contact Site Admin  Marriage License Laws 

  Select A State: A - M          Select A State: N - Z

HomeLocal Wedding ServicesOnline Wedding StoreBridal BlogWedding Planning ArticlesList Your Company 

Wedding Planning

Weddings Local Wedding Guide

Weddings Bridal Blog

Weddings The Wedding Store

Weddings Local Bridal Shows

Weddings Green Weddings

Weddings Reception Ideas

Weddings Toasts & Quotes

Marriage License Laws

Marriage License Laws

Planning Resources

Wedding Planning Timeline Planning Timeline

Who Pays For What At A Wedding Who Pays For What

Wedding Budget Planning Tools Budget Tools

Things You Need For Weddings Things You'll Need

Marriage License Laws Marriage Laws

Wedding Gift Registry Checklist Registry Checklist

Name Change Information After A Wedding Name Change Info

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marriage License Laws

If you've set a date for your wedding this can be an exciting time for the two of you! All 50 states have slightly different requirements to get your marriage license. Don't let the marriage license laws put a crimp in your wedding plans.

Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you when you apply for a marriage license in your state. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your wedding date.

PLEASE NOTE:

State and county marriage license requirements often change. The following information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

 

State Name

Age Req.

Waiting Period

Blood Test

Cost

Cash Required

License Validity

Residency Required

ID Requirement

Previous Marriages

Alabama

18

None

No

$43

 

30 Days

No

Valid Driver's License or Birth Certificate and SS#60 day waiting period after Divorce is final.
Alaska

18

3 Days

No

$25

 

90 Days

No

Photo ID such as Drivers License.If divorced within the last 60 days, provide certified copy of the divorce decree.
Arizona

18

None

No

$50

 

1 Year

No

Photo ID such as Drivers License.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Arkansas

18

None

No

$35 To $47

Yes

60 Days

No

Ages 18/21:provide certified copy of birth certificates, active Military ID card, or valid passport. Over 21:valid driver's license.Copy of divorce decree is required.
California

18

None

No

$45+

Yes

90 Days

No

Valid photo ID.Some counties may require a copy of the final judgment if your previous marriage ended by dissolution or nullity.
Colorado

18

None

No

$10+

Yes

25-35 Days

No

Photo ID, SS#; Mother's Maiden name, parents birth places, date and location of wedding; contact info of your officiant.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Connecticut

18

None

No

$35

 

25-35 Days

No

Photo ID, SS#; Mother's Maiden name, parents birth places, date and location of wedding; contact info of your officiant.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Delaware

18

1-4 Days

No

$35

Yes

30 Days

No

Photo ID such as Drivers License.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
District Of Columbia

18

5 Days

Yes

$35

 

Indefinitely

No

Photo ID and provide your social security number, address, date of birth, and home and work telephone numbers..Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Florida

18

3 Days

No

$94

 

60 Days

No

Photo ID and possibly birth certificate.Date of divorce or certified copy of divorce decree required.
Georgia

18

None

No

$26+

 

None

No

Two valid forms of ID required.Certified copy of divorce decree required in some counties.
Hawaii

18

None

No

$60

Yes

30 Days

No

Valid ID for 19 and older. If 18 or younger certified copy of birth certificate.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Idaho

18

None

No

$28 To $45

Yes

Indefinitely

No

Birth Certificate, DL and SS#.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Illinois

18

24 Hrs

No

$30

Yes

60 Days

No

Proof of age ID required.Certified copy of divorce decree required if divorced within last 6 months.
Indiana

18

None

No

$18

 

60 Days

Yes

Photo ID and possibly birth certificate.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Iowa

18

3 Days

No

$30

Yes

6 Months

No

Photo ID and SS information.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Kansas

18

3 Days

No

$75

Yes

6 Months

No

Photo ID and SS information.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Kentucky

18

None

No

$35

 

30 Days

No

Photo ID and SS information.Proof of dissolution of marriage.
Louisiana

18

3 Days

No

$25

 

30 Days

No

Photo ID; certified birth certificate and SS information.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Maine

18

None

No

$30

 

90 Days

No

Photo ID if 24 and older; if younger birth certificate and SS#.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Maryland

18

2 Days

No

$35 To $60

 

6 Months

No

Photo ID and possibly certified birth certificate.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
Massachusetts

18

3 Days

No

$4 To $50

 

60 Days

No

Photo ID and possibly certified birth certificate.Possible 90 day waiting period after divorce is final.
Michigan

18

3 Days

Yes

$20 To $30

 

6 Months

No

Photo ID and SS information.Proof of dissolution of marriage.
Mississippi

21

3 Days

Yes

$22

Yes

Indefinitely

No

Photo ID and certified birth certificate, parents addresses and mothers maiden name.Provide date and how marriage ended.
Missouri

18

3 Days

No

$51

Yes

30 Days

No

Photo ID and SS information.Date of divorce or death required. Possible 30 day waiting period.
Montana

18

None

Yes

$58

Yes

6 Months

No

Certified Copy of Birth Certificate or DL and SS#.Certified copy of Divorce Decree.
Nebraska

18

None

No

$15

Yes

1 Year

No

Photo ID and SS information. Names and birthplaces of parents.Date of divorce or spouses death required. Possible 60 day waiting period.
Nevada

18

None

No

$35 To $65

 

1 Year

No

Valid photo ID.Provide the exact date divorce was final and city and state in which it occurred.
New Hampshire

18

None

No

$45

 

90 Days

No

Photo ID, certified birth certificate and SS information.Certified copy of Divorce Decree.
New Jersey

18

3 Days

No

$28

Yes

30 Days

No

Photo ID, certified birth certificate and SS information.Certified copy of Divorce Decree.
New Mexico

18

None

No

$25 To $40

Yes

Indefinitely

No

Valid photo ID for 24 and older; younger must also provide certified birth certificate and SS information.Date of divorce or spouses death required.
New York

18

24 Hrs

No

$40 To $50

 

60 Days

No

Valid photo ID, certified birth certificate recommended.Certified copy of divorce decree required.
North Carolina

18

None

No

$50

Yes

60 Days

No

Proof of age and SS# ID required.Date of divorce or certified copy of divorce decree required.
North Dakota

18

None

No

$35

 

60 Days

No

Photo ID and SS information.Certified copy of divorce decree or plain copy of death certificate required.
Ohio

18

None

No

$40+

Yes

60 Days

No

Valid photo ID; know your SS#.Certified copy of divorce decree or plain copy of death certificate required.
Oklahoma

18

None

No

$25 To $50

 

10 Days

No

Photo ID and SS information.Waiting period of 6 months after divorce is final. Copy of divorce decree recommended.
Oregon

18

3 Days

No

$50 To $60

Yes

60 Days

No

Valid photo ID.One day waiting period after divorce is final. Copy of divorce decree may be required.
Pennsylvania

18

3 Days

No

$40

Yes

60 Days

No

Photo ID and SS information.Provide certified copy of divorce decree with court raised seal.
Rhode Island

18

None

No

$24+

Yes

90 Days

No

Certified copy of birth certificate and SS#.Certified copy of divorce decree or plain copy of death certificate required.
South Carolina

18

24 Hrs

No

Varies

 

Indefinitely

No

Photo ID and SS card.Proof of divorce is not required.
South Dakota

18

None

No

$45

Yes

20 Days

No

Photo ID or certified copy of birth certificate.Certified copy of divorce decree or plain copy of death certificate required.
Tennessee

18

None

No

$93+

Yes

30 Days

No

Photo ID or certified copy of birth certificate and SS information.Provide copy of divorce decree.
Texas

18

3 Days

No

$31 To $41

Yes

30 Days

No

Photo ID and SS information.Certified copy of Divorce Decree.
Utah

18

None

No

$45 To $50

Yes

30 Days

No

Photo ID and SS information.Certified copy of Divorce Decree if within 30 days.
Vermont

18

None

No

$20 To $23

Yes

60 Days

No

Photo ID or certified copy of birth certificate; mothers' maiden names and parents birth states.Date of divorce or spouses death required.
Virginia

18

None

No

$30

Yes

60 Days

No

Photo ID or certified copy of birth certificate.Proof of dissolution of marriage.
Washington

18

3 Days

No

$42 To $62

Yes

60 Days

No

Photo ID and SS information.Divorce must be final and filed before application for a license.
West Virginia

18

None

No

$36

Yes

60 Days

No

Photo ID; parents full names; mothers maiden names; parents birth states.Proof of dissolution of marriage.
Wisconsin

18

5 Days

No

$80

Yes

30 Days

Yes

Photo ID w current address; certified birth cert; SS info; parents full names, mothers' maiden name; date/place of ceremony; officiant's info.Proof of dissolution of marriage.
Wyoming

18

None

No

$25

Yes

1 Year

No

Photo ID, certified birth certificate and SS information, mothers maiden names; parents birth states.Certified copy of divorce decree or plain copy of death certificate required.

 

 




Brides & Grooms

 

Local Wedding Services

The Wedding Source Store

My Wedding Website

My Wedding Registry

Online Wedding Community

Wedding Resources

 

Wedding Fashion & Attire

Destination Weddings

Ceremony & Vows

Reception Ideas

Honeymoon Destinations

Wedding Resources

 

Local Bridal Shows

Ideas, Tips & Etiquette

Advice From The Pros

Wedding Planning Articles

Advertisers

 

Advertise Your Business

Advertiser Login

Link To Us

Contact Our Sales Team

Submit An Article





The Wedding Source, LLC.

Design & Hosting By Pittsburgh Wedding

Site Map 1 |  Site Map 2  |  Links  |  Privacy Policy

Copyright 2004 - 2015